Hotel Frederick and Coffee Shop

580-335-2954 | 100 E. Grand

 

Built in 1929, Hotel Frederick’s lobby and business areas were hubs of activity in Frederick for many decades. Its Blue Room was the site of elaborate dinners and every formal function in the town. Now owned by the Community Action Development Corporation, the hotel serves as apartments for Frederick citizens and houses several businesses at its’ base.

The Hotel Frederick opened on January 1, 1930 and stayed active with community activity up until the late 1960s.   By that time the hotel was in decline and the building was closed. It remained closed until the 1990s when the then-deteriorated building was completely restored and put into use by the Community Action Development Corporation. The old hotel became The Grand, retirement apartments, and the business areas surrounding its lobby were again filled with businesses. The magnificent Blue Room is used daily for a senior meals program as well as other community events.

The space that was used for decades as the hotel coffee shop, closed for more than 20 years, was reopened in 2007 as a specialty coffee shop, where visitors may order coffee, breakfast and lunch.  Walking into the restored lobby and coffee shop is a step back in time. The Hotel also houses the Frederick Tourist Information Room and the Chamber office.